The Wagner Society of New York has announced the winners of its coveted annual singers’ awards. Following a final audition round held at Merkin Concert Hall on Tuesday, May 21, tenor Shawn Roth was awarded the Robert Lauch Memorial Fund Award ($6,000) and mezzo-soprano Sarah-Jane Lewis was awarded the Ursula Springer Award ($3,000).


Encouragement grants of $1,000 each were extended to baritone Joel Balzun and soprano Hannah Crawford. Grants of $500 each were made to tenor Jaewon Jung, mezzo-soprano Gretchen Krupp, soprano Marissa Moultrie, tenor John Kun Park, bass-baritone Leo Radosavljevic, baritone Daniel Scofield, soprano Kelly Slawson, and soprano Julia Wolcott.


The judging panel comprised the members of WSNY’s Singers’ Committee: artist manager Ken Benson; conductor Tyson Deaton; dramaturg Cori Ellison; vocal coach Roger Malouf; and arts administrator Deborah Surdi. Renowned Wagnerian bass-baritone James Morris served as guest adjudicator.

Applications via video were received from over forty artists from ten US states, Canada, Germany, and the UK.  After a rigorous review by the WSNY Singers’ Committee, twelve singers were selected to take part in the final audition.